Down the rabbit hole

av Serpens Albus

It was not like I was bored or anything. Truth be told, I was quite content, sitting at a table outside a local restaurant, soaking in the summer sun. It just sparked my curiosity is all and why wouldn’t it? It is not every day you see a pink little dragon running through the city center.

The little creature seemed awfully familiar in many ways and yet…so fascinating, so different. I got up out of my chair and followed it, across the street and into the park by the church,  just in time to see it dive down into what seemed to be a rabbit hole.

”Don’t go there”, a little voice whispered in my ear and a part of me wanted to listen. After all, it is more than reasonable advice not to jump down a rabbit hole. Yet, there was something that drew me closer and closer to the hole and it all started to seem so alluring, so thrilling until suddenly I found myself standing right there at the edge. Just one…small…step, and down the rabbit hole I went, chasing that dragon.

”…`for it might end, you know,’ said Alice to herself, `in my going out altogether, like a candle. I wonder what I should be like then?’…”
Alice in Wonderland